graver blank question.

Stonesetter77

As a newbie to engraving I have a question to buying/making gravers. I have a few engravers already like Onglette, Knive edge, and flats but they just dive too deep into the silver I've been practicing on. All the videos I see online show people cutting with 90°-120° and so I want to make some and try them out. So my question is, are there pros/cons to using square blanks or round blanks? Cannot decide which to order. Thanks :thumbsup:

takedeadaim

To me the easiest sharpening template is from Lindsay. He has a variety available both in 90* and what he calls the universal template which is a 120*. They are easy to use and once you own the graver holder all the templates use that same piece. There are also multiple videos of how to use the templates to easily create repeatable gravers

dogcatcher

Elite Cafe Member
I am just a hobbyist, trying to learn for my own benefit at the least amount of cost so take what I say with that in mind. The drawing and the sharpening are the 2 most important parts of learning to engrave. One does not work without the other. The sharpening, I read the basics, the Meeks book, the threads on here, the hints section etc.. I had the basic knowledge, or thought I did, but I was too cheap to buy a sharpening system. So I spent hours studying the various homemade and commercially made sharpening systems. That time was cheap, it cost me nothing but I was able to create my own sharpening system. But from reading all of the stuff, I gleaned so much information about the angles that it was another education in itself. I also recommend taking notes as you go along, the so the source you find today you can find next month or next year. That was the most productive time I have spent on this chase of the "rabbit".