Question: Vintage Vise Pins.

skylerchubak

Hi everyone, I'm really new to engraving, meaning I haven't done it at all yet. I've just done research and am in the slowly buying tools stage until I have what I need. I'll get there...
Anyways, I recently got a victor engraving vise on ebay. It's really exciting and beautiful and I can't wait to use it, however I don't have attachment pins that fit it.
I was going back and forth between looking on ebay for old ones that might fit it, or buying a new pin attachment set from GRS or a modern fabricator. Then I came across another vise on ebay, by the same company (A.D Muehlmatt) with pins included, I got this one as well as I got it for a good enough price (about how much I would buy a modern set of pins for) and figured I could interchange the pins. Even though it has a complete pin set and is made by the same company the pins don't fit. It's kind of funny and kind of a bummer. I did't buy newer pins because I didn't know if they would fit the old vise, but the old pins turned out to not either.
The holes in the first vise I got, the Victor is smaller than the second Vise, which is a Rexcino. Maybe that doesn't matter as the top part that holds the pins could be made by a different company? I haven't tried taking of that part on the Rexcino as it is screwed in fairly well, and I'd rather just have those parts permanently attached.
I realize this is a basic questions for a lot of people, and maybe down the road I'll wonder why I asked it. I also realize some of you may wonder why I didn't just get a new vise, but I guess I decided to start with this and I'm not sure what makes sense.
Wondering how to find pins that will fit the first vise, or what you may do in this situation. I have photos as well, but I'm not sure how to post them. I will if it becomes apparent after I do post this.

Thanks
-Skyler Chubak

If the photos work the Rexcino is the one with the leather donut base.

Last edited:

mdengraver