Question: Holding the Graver for a Lefty!

filashoes

So I have done a lot of searches on the general web for how a lefty should hold a graver, to find out if it differs from a right handed person or not. I have not come up with anything and wondering if anyone may have some suggestions.

I will say that generally lefties hold writing implements much differently (upside down usually) compared to right handed folks. I must add that I am completely new to hand engraving and trying to learn on some scrap pieces (not a very successful start).

I was lucky and have probably more equipment than I will ever need (bought it all from an estate sale from a fellow lapidary club member).

Now just figuring out how to make sure I use this stuff to add even more depth to my lapidary art and silversmithing.

Thanks ahead for any help.

Donny

Elite Cafe Member
I am a lefty and engrave just like a righty only with my left hand :) With engraving it is all about posture. If you have bad posture and try to hold your graver/hand piece any other way you will not have a easy go of it. Having said that, I have seen many Japanese engravers hold their gravers/chisels above to the top and hammer from that direction...I would be UN-successful at that :) You will adjust in a few days. This is not like writing for us. Once you figure out that the left hand actually moves very little and that you are turing your vise into the graver tip with your right hand it will make more sense. You will roll your left hand to and flourishes and the like but no engraving upside down from the top;)

I did reply assuming you were referring to a air-assisted engraving system. If its hammer and chisel....still the same as a righty :) ..................at least thats how it all works for me.....

Don

Last edited:

monk

Staff member
::::Pledge Member::::
copy the fotos of how people hold their gravers. take the fotos and reverse them in your software. i think, keyword "think", may be a bit of help.

filashoes