Okay! Humbility Time

preachinpilot

Humbility is a word I just made up while perusing the pictures of various engravers I've watched for a spell. I looked back and saw the improvement and changes in design and ability. Some nmay think that Sam Alfano, Drain, Didyoung were born with engraving tools in their hands but I assure all the beginners like me, they all started with a deep breath. So Humbility is my word for putting a picture of something I know is not very good, opening myself up for some good old fashioned critique, and to leave a trail of progress. So here I go.

Attachments

• 20170613_151927.jpg
    20170613_151927.jpg
    118.1 KB · Views: 418

don hicks

Elite Cafe Member
Preachinpilot,
I'm in your boat, still haven't done a picture post. I like the taper you're getting on your shade lines. I'll through out an observation and keep in mind I'm no expert, but the right half oF the design seems heavy, by that I mean not enough negative space compared to the left half. I'll let others with better skills than I do further critiques. Keep on posting ,you are inspiring me to try and figure out how to post a picture.
Cheers
Don

Eric Olson

Elite Cafe Member
The first stage in designing for "classic" engraving is to fill an area with scrolls. Then, when your scrolls (the "backbones") are nice and even and go all the way to the edges of your "area", fill in with leaves.
If you have a sketchbook, take your pencil divide a page up into a bunch of random shapes, maybe 2" at the largest, some triangles, some 4-5 sided, etc.
Practice filling each shape with nice even scrolls. After 2-3 pages you'll be surprised at how much easier it gets to "see ahead" when you're laying out a design.