HP Envoy 5660 Inkjet works well for transfer

davidshe

Elite Cafe Member
I had been using an HP Deskjet 1000 for a couple years and it finally gave up the ghost. I tested two new HP printers that both use pigment based ink. An HP OfficeJetPro 6968 and an HP Envy 5660. I decided to keep the HP Envy 5660. It produced a bit cleaner transfers although the other one was not bad. It is an all in one printer so I can also copy and scan if needed. Uses #62 ink refills and is also elgible for the new HP monthly ink plan as low as $2.99 per mo which I applied for. Printer was 89 bucks plus extended warranty and tax.

I tested each printer thoroughly using pretty small, detailed designs I am currently engraving on watch bracelet links. I played with every setting and for the Envy 5660 I came up with the following that seemed to work best...
Paper=Other Matte Inkjet Paper
Color= High Quality Greyscale
Max DPI = Yes

I spent a lot of time dinking around with this but getting good transfers is so important to me it was worth the trouble and I hope it also helps someone else out.

dave gibson

Elite Cafe Member
I agree, I have the HP Envy 5660. It works great, easy and priced right. HP printers using #62 ink cartridge should all work, #63 also. There's a chart on Google that tells which printers use which ink cartridge but be sure to check the box when buying a model other than the 5660. I had a different model at the checkstand when I saw it used a different ink even though the chart on Google said #62.

I did a lot of research too and I'm very happy with this printer.

Bobby Branton

On another note, I have the same printer and set it up for wireless and it worked for a few days and not it will not talk to the computer. Have you guys had the same issue???

John B.

Lifetime Pledge Member
::::Pledge Member::::