Squiggly stuff by Simon.

mitch

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
Simon did a great job with it, but that stuff makes my eyes cross....

Sam

Chief Administrator & Benevolent Dictator
Staff member
Simon's dang good at the squigglies! That has to take an incredible amount of time to design and cut.

thejeweler

I'm curious...I am a noobie and have not begun engraving but I have always admired the art. I am a custom jeweler who has avoided developing this talent, until now. I have just received my Lindsay Classic and looking forward to learning to cut.

I have learned much lately as I lurked around this wonderful collection of information and inspiration. Had I access to this 30 years ago, I would have already started!

The thing I am curious about is this style. I have seen many conversations and tutorials about scrollwork and learned some of the finer details that make a great scroll different from a good scroll. However, I have not seen much about this more "random" design. Is it looked down upon from a design standpoint or just not as common because of the tedious nature of it? I wonder because the doodles I have drawn over the years, true doodles on papers I should have been taking notes on for my day job, are mostly like this.

I understand the art of this is doing what you feel, the business of it is what the customer wants, but I am interested in how it fits into the engraving community's culture.

Roger Bleile

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
This is a very ornate style, in fact the Italian masters call it "ornato." It is only my opinion, but as a beginner you should study the basic styles of scroll until you can get your head around this kind of thing. After being on this forum for several years, I have seen so many beginners get all wrapped up in trying to emulate advanced styles of ornament, then later we never hear from those people as they have given up.