Engraving Example for Study - Pape Boxlock

Crossbolt

Elite Cafe Member
I recently acquired another addition to my collection of English doubles which was specifically added as an example of some of the moderate relief engraving to be found on W. R. Pape guns. As a beginner I find it very useful to study how cuts are made in the real thing, or failing that on largely expanded photographs when they're available on sites like Holt's. I thought I'd post a few dumbphone photos. If anyone is interested in seeing more detailed images of particular areas just say so and I'll try and take some "macro" photos and post them. The engraver is anonymous although the style is definitely that attributed by Tate to one "Woodruff" who apparently performed engraving for Pape. Regardless I think it's rather impressive. I believe it is referred to as "Floral Cup". The "flowers" almost, but not quite, look like hops to me... which gives me ideas about vine engraving.

Jeremy

Attachments

• pape floral cup.jpg
    pape floral cup.jpg
    67.1 KB · Views: 520
  • pape floral cup 2.jpg
    pape floral cup 2.jpg
    86 KB · Views: 527
  • pape floral cup 3.jpg
    pape floral cup 3.jpg
    84 KB · Views: 528

Sam

Chief Administrator & Benevolent Dictator
Staff member
Can you tell how the background was removed? I've never seen anything quite like this. Are those chisel marks or I wonder if it was chemically etched?

Crossbolt

Elite Cafe Member
Sam
I'd swear that the background was removed by burin then blacked somehow, but I'm a relative ignoramus when it comes to examining the subtleties of engraving. It didn't strike me as etched but I'll have to take a closer look and ponder that. I'll see if I can get more revealing photographs of the background and the edges near the relief work.
For reference the techniques used at the time, the gun was retailed in 1909 and I'm sure engraved just prior to sale.
Jeremy

Big-Un

~ Elite 1000 Member ~