Update on my floor plate

Mark Knapp

Here's an update on my floor plate. Please don't judge me too harshly, I probably broke about a dozen cardinal engraving sins, I just don't know any better.

I have finished the outlines and shading and started to cut out the back ground on the bottom.

There's probably influences from western bright cut (from school) and Bulini from a disk I've been watching.

I'm experimenting with lots of different things. I tried veining the upper leaves, but I'm not sure I like it.

For some reason I can't get the pictures to look like the floor plate actually looks.

Comments and critique are welcomed, thanks for looking, Mark

Mnavarro

I am a totally novice when it comes to engraving,but that looks really good to me. I noticed your bladeforums too. Too bad I live in california some of the handle material you offer is top quality stuff.

Thierry Duguet

Elite Cafe Member
I am a totally novice when it comes to engraving,but that looks really good to me. I noticed your bladeforums too. Too bad I live in california some of the handle material you offer is top quality stuff.

The one eye man with glaucoma guiding the blind!

Andrew Biggs

Hi Mark

Good effort. There are no obvious bumps and lumps and your curves are smooth. So that's all a good start :)

Your cutting seems to be okay and your technical skill will improve more with practice, as you would expect.

With this type of engraving the process generally is as follows

1. Main cuts
2. Background removal (Flat, bur etc)
3. Background texture (Stipple etc etc)
4. Shading (by shading after background removal and texturing it makes it easier to see where the shading will go)
5. Finishing

What is letting you down is the design part of it.

1. Stick to your borders and make sure they are even. Work outside the borders has its place but at this stage of your learning process stick within the borders. This will become apparent when you start removing background.