Question: Curved Vs Straight Graver

EvanCharuk

Hello everyone! Just curious as to everyones preference when it comes to curved VS straight gravers. I am using a nGraver system that came with a 90 degree graver that I use for more applications then I probably should. I ordered a 120 degree graver from GRS and its straight. Whenever I use this straight graver I have issues with keeping a appropriate depth to my cut, either being way too shallow or suddenly sinking too deep. :mad:

Im sure with a torch, some pliers and some nerves I could bent the 120 degree graver. Should I just learn to cut with it straight ? I would rather buy gravers that are already curved if possible.Saw some on the GRS site but wasnt sure exactly what they were selling.

Any advice or input is welcomed. I searched this topic and didnt find much. I am using a nGraver handpiece not a air powered system.:thumbsup:

Wew0001

Hi Evan,
I'm pretty new to the engraving scene and while I have never used a curved graver that sounds like a lot of trouble to curve a graver. It seems like you would have to re harden the graver as well. I use a 120 often it is one of my favorites! With the correct heel angle and a little practice I'm sure you will soon be able to control the depth. I'm not sure if this is helpful at all but that's my two cents.
Good luck!!!

Brian Marshall

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
Stockton, California & Taxco, Guerrero, Mexico
You can achieve most of the characteristics of the slight curve by experimenting with variations in your sharpening geometry.

Bending most high speed steels in a home shop is gonna disappoint you, because you can't get back the original hardness and temper...

But you can anneal, bend, harden and temper carbon steels fairly easily.

Brian

Andrew Biggs

There's nothing wrong with using a 90 square graver as a cutting tool. A lot of people do.