Complete newbie advice needed

Cuboodle

I'm a complete newbie I build flintlock rifles and want to start engraving them. I have messed around with a few graders and a chasing hammer with awful results. I know I should take a class or two. My question is this will a Lindsey palmgraver make it easier to start engraving on what I would classify as simple engraving to the standards of say a 1760's gunsmith or is it comparable to the results I'm getting now UGLY..

Omar Haltam

Elite Cafe Member
takes practice and patience, but if you find a class to take it will give you a solid foundation to build on, but nothing comes easy.
Good luck

~Omar

Thierry Duguet

Elite Cafe Member
I do not mean to be sarcastic but the fact is that most of the "engraving" on Kentucky rifle of that era were pretty bad so what you do is more in keeping with the style of rifle than what I would be doing. Improving might actually be detrimental.

Leland Davis

Elite Cafe Member
Cuboodle, if you have studied original Pennsylvania longrifles you know the makers had varying talents some were fair engravers some should have left it off. Jacob Dickert had a few rifles with almost modern looking fine line shading. Most were not of great quality like Thierry said but it can't look like it was scratched with a nail if you want to sell your rifles. The palmcontrol will speed up the learning curve but hand chased on a flintrifle is the way to go. This will consume you once you get started. Good luck it's worth it.
Leland

Cuboodle

I was only asking about the Lindsay engraver because my neighbor is selling a Damascus handled outfit he got at an estate sale he's asking 450 bucks for a complete setup

JJ Roberts

:::Pledge Member:::
::::Pledge Member::::
Cuboodle,Where do you live? in October 28th & 29th the 32nd Annual Virginia-Kentucky Rife Show held at the Holiday Inn & Suites,Front Royal Va.I be at my table come join us if you can, Wallace Gusler will be there. J.J.

Last edited:

Mike_Morgan