First attempt at engraving

didyoung

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
Found my first try at engraving.
Do you have proof of you starting point in the engraving world.

Attachments

• IMG_20160826_072335957_HDR.jpg
    IMG_20160826_072335957_HDR.jpg
    74.7 KB · Views: 352
  • IMG_20160826_072346869_HDR.jpg
    IMG_20160826_072346869_HDR.jpg
    80.3 KB · Views: 351

Bluetickhound

Elite Cafe Member
image.jpg

Other than chevron lines and basic circles, this is my first attempt to actually engrave something that looks like (Harty har har...) "engraving"....I did it earlier this week and it currently sits on my bench laughing at me...

Last edited:

JJ Roberts

:::Pledge Member:::
::::Pledge Member::::
Here are some very early engravings I did about 40 years ago.

Attachments

• beginning.engraving.jpg
    beginning.engraving.jpg
    48.8 KB · Views: 309
  • beginning.engraving3.jpg
    beginning.engraving3.jpg
    93.2 KB · Views: 306
  • beginning.engraving2.jpg
    beginning.engraving2.jpg
    27.5 KB · Views: 306

bswezey

I love seeing these kinds of things to give me hope that someday I might get somewhere in the hemisphere of doing work like some of you on the forum here. Here are my first two plates from last week. My first GRS class. 0816160855.jpg 0818161619a~2.jpg

John B.

Lifetime Pledge Member
I love seeing these kinds of things to give me hope that someday I might get somewhere in the hemisphere of doing work like some of you on the forum here. Here are my first two plates from last week. My first GRS class.

Well done, you're on the right track and doing a good job for such early days.
May I suggest that you buy a couple of fairly simple scroll castings for study.
They will be a big help in your learning curve, show shading line placement and depth while reinforceing your GRS experience.
Draw and enjoy the journey.

Last edited:

Crossbolt

Elite Cafe Member