Critique Request

Leland Davis

Elite Cafe Member
Had a chance to do some drawing tonight. Andrew suggested drawing and filling shapes so I traced around a floor plate not a complicated shape but I'm a rookie.
Let me know what I should have done better.
Thanks. Leland

Attachments

• Scan0013.jpg
    Scan0013.jpg
    72 KB · Views: 362

Andrew Biggs

Not to bad at all :)

You have good balance between your scrolls and leaves

Your scrolls need a bit of tweaking but that will come with time and practice. Same with the leaves

My best advise is to just keep at it. Your on the right path and what you need is more refinement with your drawing. :)

Cheers
Andrew

Big-Un

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
I was about to suggest you take the scrolls to the edges but then saw some lightly drawn elements filling in from the border, so I'll not suggest that! Looks good.

Leland Davis

Elite Cafe Member
Andrew and Big-Un thanks for the comments. I will get this someday I hope. Andrew, Saturday I was working in my shop engraving a toe plate for a flintlock longrifle I am building. I made a stupid mistake suddenly a voice with a New Zealand accent popped into my head, now you did it, didn't think that thru did ya. I don't even know if you have an accent but when admonishing me in my skull you do. I started laughing no one else there so I didn't have to explain.
Your comments are appreciated, Leland

Andrew Biggs

Yep, I have a heavy Kiwi accent alright...........you just have to ask everyone at the FEGA show :)

Just keep at it. You are on a good path. Keep observing, keep drawing and keep cutting.

Cheers
Andrew

Big-Un

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
Yep, Andrew does have a bit of an accent! But , being "down under" I just call it upside down southern twang! We CAN understand him.

monk

Staff member
::::Pledge Member::::