stone setting burrs

tdelewis

Elite Cafe Member
I purchased a stone setting burr from Rio Grand and it just doesn't seem to cut, more like a grind and it leaves a wire edge around the pocket. First, I am just learning and want to bead set stones in buckles. So I may not know what I am doing. I have watched Sam's stone setting video on youtube. I have tried to follow it. Is it me or do I just have a poor quality burr. I know just like everything else; you can buy junk or pay more for quality. Another question is what size hole do you drill before using the burr. If the stone is 3mm What size drill is required?

silverchip

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
Yes ,there area lot of junk burs out there, be careful and pay attention to brands and configurations so you can get what work for your application. I use 45* for bead setting. Predrilling is a good idea, If your hole needs fit a 3mm stone the hole should be drilled with a 1.5 and then use an undersize ball burr (2.5) to help get proper depth and then finish with the correct size setting bur,the stone should sit plum and just have enough depth to allow you to raise a bur(prong) that crowds the girdle and come over the top of the table. Most of the time I use a #52 Round bottom to raise the bur. Good luck!!!! Amethyst and emeralds are not very suited for this !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

tsterling

Elite Cafe Member
Make certain your grinder is running in the correct direction. My NSK micromotor is easy to select the wrong direction.

BLW

If your setting small stones say under 2.5 mm you can just use ball burs and not worry about setting bur or as Silverchip suggests

Omar Haltam

Elite Cafe Member
Silverchip pretty much summed it up for you in a nutshell.
you can always do a couple in brass to get a feel for it. little easier to work with
then try doing it in steel. One thing is try using lubricant with the burs it gives them longer life and keeps them sharper longer.