Critique Request Maori Inspired Remington 870 Concept - Viable?

Crossbolt

Elite Cafe Member
Hello All
I’m hoping a few will help me calibrate my eyes on this.
I’ve attached a sketch of a concept for a Remington 870 I’d really appreciate some big picture feedback on.

My Background:
I’m a complete novice and won’t be putting a graver to a gun, I’m fairly certain, for a couple of years. Nevertheless I’m trying to develop ideas and a feel for how designs work. The first gun I’m likely to engrave is a Remington 870 Express Magnum that I own. It is a relatively cheap simple gun so there’s less risk when I start hacking at it . My “blank†English doubles will wait. I find it best to draw up ideas and put them away for a few months before looking at them again. I see how flawed they are more readily then and sometimes where to change things. What I lack though is a good feel for how a drawing is likely to translate into cut metal, both with regards to texture and impact of the scale of elements. That’s what I’m particularly hoping for input on. Of course all comments are welcome.

The Specific Design Thinking:
To me the biggest design issue I want to address on the 870 is the huge ejector port which is around 3 ½ inches long (almost 9 cm to everyone else). I don’t like seeing obvious features like that “ignored†on the examples of engraved 870s I’ve looked at. The other thing that strikes me about the 870, other than its large area is its simple, minimalist form. To me that makes relatively ornate engraving look out of place. There’s no way I’m going to cover an 870 with English scrolls :) . So I’ve been toying with how to incorporate the ejector port into “simple†engraving on a large scale.