New to engraving, saying hello!

Mike_Morgan

Elite Cafe Member
Hi Everybody,

I'm new to engraving... just getting started and I've been lurking on this and other forums and I've decided to muster up the courage to say hello!

I have some pretty good tools, a couple of Airgraver Classics and foot controls, A decent microscope and stand, plus a whole lot of enthusiasm.

I would love to know if anybody in the Rochester NY area is available to show a few pointers and maybe just let me watch for a while. Youtube is great, but it's no substitute for watching it done without the camera lens in the way.

Anyway, as I said... saying hello is the first step! (wasn't as hard as I thought... glad it's out of the way)

Mike

AndrosCreations

Elite Cafe Member
Greetings Mike,

Welcome.

I hope there'll be someone in the vicinity to help out, but if not, don't lose heart. When I first started, I was pretty much on my own as far as learning.. though there was a kind gentleman north of me to show me a classic before I purchased.

Maybe think about signing up for a class from one of the many teachers as well as buying some dvd's.

I hope someone is near to give you oppurtunity.

Andy

Mike_Morgan

Elite Cafe Member
I'm a member over at the Lindsay forum. I actually get into Albany a couple times peach year, I'll reach out and touch base.

monk

Staff member
::::Pledge Member::::
welcome. draw a design on a piece of metal. then cut the design. you may surprise yourself. you mentioned that you have all the toys. that's good. how about pencils? pencil control is more important to learn than graver control. all you will want to learn is predicated on good design concepts.
it would also be good to hook up with somebody that has a knowledge of this art. above all, a lot of practice awaits you. enjoy it !

Mike_Morgan

Elite Cafe Member