Question: what to look for?

Sgwiley

Banned
At first I thought this was a dumb question but the more I thought about it, it was a question i asked myself and keep asking. I am a beginner too and the cut is elusIive....the proper depth, width, etc. I like to really cut the metal and go deep but I have seen extremely shallow engraving...almost like scratches.

I think the answer may be a clean, intentional cut no matter how shallow or deep. Personally, I am striving for cuts with personality, flair and some rythym...
Kind of like being in the groove. I don't know if that is right or wrong but what the heck.

Sgwiley

Banned
I also welcome comments by the master engravers on this site because this is an interesting topic to me. What is a good cut? And does it matter if it is deep or shallow?

Sam's DVD's and Videos on Demand are helping me quite a bit. A someone fairly new to engraving myself, I recommend them to de-mystify things quite a bit. A little while ago when I was first getting started, I had bought gravers totalling about $100 and ground them incorrectly with no guidance at all. Had I just bought Sam's DVD on Graver Sharpening beforehand, I could've saved myself time, misery, and money. So it is with the other DVD's he and other engravers offer. If they seem expensive, believe me, learning on my own was much more expensive per my previous example I gave. That alone was worth the price of admission, so to speak.

Sam

Chief Administrator & Benevolent Dictator
Staff member
Design is THE most important part of engraving. Great design can carry the work even if the cutting is below standard. When I look at engraving it's design first, then the accuracy and precision of the cutting second.

Sgwiley

Banned