Question: RinGenie or GRS Ring holder?

WSammut

I have used the RinGenie quite a bit and think it is a really system but its out of my current price range. Is the GRS ring holder a nice compermise for the price or should I save the money and hold off until I can afford a RinGinie? I'm currently just putting ring collets strait in my vise and opening and turning the ring to work one section at a time.
Thanks,
William

jb1983

Elite Cafe Member
The GRS holder is nice. I have stripped the thread off in the pass. The one Stuller makes I believe its based of David White design is the best value & works great. But if $$$ is not the issue the JURA ring holder is worth its weight in gold. I have no experience with the Ringenie but looks like it would get in the way when working on a ring. Just my thoughts good luck.

dlilazteca

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
I have the grs ring holder, gets the job done, but you have to mess with the tension to get it just right so you can spin it and engrave if necessary, not sure on durability as I dont use it much.

GunEngraver.com Guns, Knives & More

Sam

Chief Administrator & Benevolent Dictator
Staff member
I don't think the two can be compared as they are totally different devices. The RG allows you to rotate the ring as you're cutting which is nice. For rings like signets I normally use the GRS fixture since I don't have to turn them while engraving.

WSammut

Brian, I've thought about that but if I remember correctly he told me he's not really involved with it anymore.
So is the GRS not very good at turning while working? Because like I said I just put a collet in my vise and work section by section and if its not that much of an upgrade from that I'll just save it for a RinGinie.
Thanks everyone for the advise.
William

Brian Marshall

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
Stockton, California & Taxco, Guerrero, Mexico
Chris's, Jura's & David White's fixtures work as well as they do because they are designed by a person who makes a living using them.