Question: The rules of engraving and the future of engraving

Sgarrison007

As a beginner, I am experimenting a bit...playing with cuts and emotion. I admit I am female. My question is this. Where is the future of engraving? Is it mastering scrolls or is there more? Is it about creating emotion or depicting a man shooting a deer? I would like to master techniques but I feel there must be a new wave of creativity coming on that keeps this art alive.

I love cutting metal. It is invigorating. BUT scrolls are boring to me. Where is engraving going? P.S. I love the work of Joann Ryall. But, still wonder how expressive engraving can be when the focus is so scroll and perfection oriented.

Is there a Van Gogh of engraving? Perhaps you can educate me. thanks!

wowilson

Elite Cafe Member
Engraving is just scratching metal. There are no constraints on engraving just like there are no constraints on using a pencil. Chart your own course.

JJ Roberts

:::Pledge Member:::
::::Pledge Member::::
Sgarrison007,The art of engraving is alive and well,what type of engraving would you like to do,guns,knife,jewelry?Do you know how to draw? J.J.

mitch

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
the Italians have been coloring outside the lines for decades. Ray Wielgosz(sp?) did a lot of geometric designs. and the below photo is my recent effort at something other than scroll or representational art.

Attachments

• Image 1.jpg
    Image 1.jpg
    78.8 KB · Views: 368

Brian Marshall

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
Stockton, California & Taxco, Guerrero, Mexico
If you can afford to engrave for yourself on your own items - you are as free as you wish.

If, however, you plan to put any beans or rice (much less steak or lobster) on your table - and you earn the money for that food from engraving clients items, you will be subject to constraints.

An empty belly generally sets the rules...

Brian

Sgarrison007