Hawk Clayton

Hello, I recently bought my first set of gravers and a pitch bowl. I have a 116 degree universal Lindsay sharpening template that worked a treat on the diamond sharpeners. I have a small and a large domed end, a flat door wedge graver and a scoopy graver I made from old tungsten carbide machine bits. I made the other gravers after I had shaped the Lindsay point so I could get the size ratio right. I don't have a rotating vice however so I welded a large bearing to the bottom of my pitch bowl to clamp into my engineers vice. it turns perfectly so it will do until I can get a proper one.
I think that's all I need to get me started, unless I'm missing anything?
I wanted to first try the hammer and chisel style of engraving and then try hand push engraving.
I am a welder fabricator and have worked with metal for years. I enjoy making sculptures and wanted to try something different. I don’t know if this experience will help but I am very excited and eager to try it.

Now I just need some engraving knowledge. I'm pretty old fashioned and was looking for some books that I can sit next to me while I work (I have no computer where I will be working) Can anybody help me?

monk

Staff member
::::Pledge Member::::
the james b. meeks book, "the art of engraving" is a good book to start with. this book covers many of the disciplines one would want to master to excel in the art of engraving. the book assumes little knowledge on the part of the reader. you already know about metalworking. you'll just be shifting way down in size. there are others, but i feel the meeks book keeps things at a very understandable level.

SamW

:::Pledge Member:::
Castle Valley, UT in the Red Rock country
I second Monk's comment. It is the book I learned the most from many years ago and everything I do engraving wise is in that book in one form or another. Over the years I have altered many of them to suit me but that is where they originated.

diandwill

Elite Cafe Member