Question: Got my self stumped a bit

Boomhower

Elite Cafe Member
Hello everyone. I am new to engraving. I have Ben getting better each day. I have only worked on practice plates so far.so I got a few cheap knives for gifts and want to put some very simple engravings on them. They have the normal brass ends on the handles and stainless blades so I can polish them out if I mess up lol. But where I am stumped is my friend handed me a tactical knife to do for his boy it has a aluminum handle and stainless blade with a black coating on it which will look great if I don't mess up but my question is what do I do with the very small burs that are left at the ends of the cuts. I have been back cutting my practice plates. And win I get done I sand them lightly to smooth them. But on this knife it has the coatings is there a trick to this or will I have to put a new finish on it win I am done. Sorry for the new guy question I don't no what to search for to fined the answer. Thank you in advance for your help

Ron Spokovich

Elite Cafe Member
When you terminate your cut, whether a graver or rotary bur, there still may be a slight amount of raised, or flaked, coating at the end. It depends upon the coating, the metal, and the tool geometry. If a burr is raised, and you carefully stone it down, you may attack the other area of the blade and scratch the coating. There is the chance that the coating will not flake, such as in, maybe, the advanced coatings they're using today. . .it's unknown until you actually cut the thing and see what happens. Too bad you don't have a sample blade, with the same coating, to experiment on. Until then, it's just taking a chance, which may, or may not, work out well.

Boomhower

Elite Cafe Member