Question: Hello I am new to engraving I need a bit of help

Boomhower

Elite Cafe Member
Hello everyone I am new to engraving I have wanted to do it for years but never had the time but now I am disabled and have way to much time my family is getting me some gravers for Christmas so I can do it buy hand but from what I have read on here and other places is that air assist is the way to go I no I should not even consider cheap tools but right now I don't have no options. My question is on the China machines that are on eBay I no they are probably not the best my question is do they use normal gravers or are there special ones for machines like these. My other question is there a better option or should I just stick to pushing buy hand and I have a chasing hammer on its way for the hard stuff what is the best handle for my gravers I sure don't want to mess them up. My main project's right now is making custom spurs and knives then move to guns once I get it good enuff lol I am sorry for the long post I just have a lot of questions. Thank you all for your time

DanM

Elite Cafe Member
Almost everything you would need is answered in the "Tips Archive" at the top of the page.If you need more exact answers to specific questions,ask them.

Boomhower

Elite Cafe Member
Thanks. I been going threw them I looked at the ngraver I may just see what I can do to get one of there set ups.

Silberschweif

Elite Cafe Member
hi,
if you want to buy an airgraver test them out first. GRS has workshops or other engravers where ever your location is... May you can find someone at your location where you can test some engraving stuff.
don´t buy too fast first think about what you want. Hammer and Chissel are working for cheap and you can get realy beauty results with them. sam has a view videos about hammer and chissel engraving.
the best tool for engraving is the cheapest pencil and paper.