Curved Surface

SalihKara

Elite Cafe Member
::::Pledge Member::::
Hi,

How do you engrave on curved surfaces,

Do you use different graver than your regular graver used on flat surface or all same ?

Best Regards

Choppers_rule

Elite Cafe Member
For inside ring curve, you may need a bent graver. All other curves I use regular graver but I'm not an expert.

SamW

:::Pledge Member:::
Castle Valley, UT in the Red Rock country
Denny is right. For a concave curved surface you need a tool with lots of lift and perhaps bent to clear obstructions. For convex surfaces the normal gravers work fine. They both take a lot of practice to get accustomed to engraving. And a lot of body English.

oiseau metal arts

Elite Cafe Member
Denny is right. For a concave curved surface you need a tool with lots of lift and perhaps bent to clear obstructions. For convex surfaces the normal gravers work fine. They both take a lot of practice to get accustomed to engraving. And a lot of body English.

and occasionally some French.

monk

Staff member
any time you do the curves-- try to cut a bit on some scrap or whatever that has a similar curve to it. when you feel you found the groove, go to the real deal.

Big-Un

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
The engraving technique for curved surfaces is exactly the same as for any surface: the graver tip is in the exact same relationship with the surface no matter the what shape it is. The tip doesn't know if the object is curved or straight, only your mind does that. Keep the cutting tip perpendicular and straight (side to side relationship) in the channel and all should go well. To do that, though, you will find it necessary to manipulate the object being cut to ensure the proper contact points. It takes extreme concentration and observational skills to do it and only time and practice will help you become familiar and comfortable with it.

Bill

SalihKara

Elite Cafe Member
Thanks for your helps.