Adobe Illustrator

I have no experience at all in Illustrator or Photoshop. I would like to be able to take a photo of an item, trace its outlines, and then do scroll backbones or borders on a template. Is there a how-to somewhere that will help me specifically with this? From the outside looking in this graphic design thing is very intimidating. Software is currently downloading on my mac to run the "cloud". I got the free trial thinking if I can learn to do what I want it would be more than worth the purchase. Thanks !

Sam

Chief Administrator & Benevolent Dictator
Staff member
It's pretty easy to outline a photo with Illustrator. You'll need to learn to use the Pen Tool and make your tracing on a separate layer.
If you've never used Illustrator you should do yourself a favor and at least learn the tools before jumping into a project. Lynda.com is a great resource for training videos.

rmgreen

Elite Cafe Member
I really encourage you to follow through with Sam's suggestion of going to Linda.com and working your way through Basic's in the tutorials for Photoshop and Illustrator. I am currently working on one of the tutorials for Photoshop it is an 11+hr tutorial to complete. I take a tea break and do a short segment. These tutorial also set up work studies so that you learn by doing. Linda.com is the next best thing to studying with an expert which you should also seek out within your community.

monk

Staff member
::::Pledge Member::::
if i were to start all over again-- i think it would be easier, less frustrating, and much more fun to just learn drawing. i use computers, as many do. for some things, drawing is less of a pita than fooling with the computer. mostly i draw oversize on paper, scan, then resize for a transfer. this works fairly quick for me. i never tried photoshop. i use coreldraw. i suppose both have a curve to them.

Gary Malone