Help, please: Tips on engraving watches and curved surfaces

DannyPaik

Hi,
I'm very new to hand engraving and I'm having trouble engraving on curved surfaces and slants. Are there any tips on doing scrolls on these kinds of surfaces?

Thanks!

GTJC460

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
Make sure the item is secured well in a fixture or some kind of fixturing material like thermolock.

Second, a square graver will be more easily controlled on a round or domed surface than a wider point geometry

oiseau metal arts

Elite Cafe Member
hours and hours and hours of practice.

don't get in a hurry. a cut will get away from you a lot more quickly on a compound curve.

Brian Marshall

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
Stockton, California & Taxco, Guerrero, Mexico
Start with 3 or 4 miles of copper tubing and the angled tube couplings & T's that go with it - that oughta teach ya something?

PLUS you can sell the scrap when you are done!

Buy a doming block and make some compound curves outta copper sheet or precut copper discs...

And if you are REALLY, REALLY serious - you can learn to cut the concave surfaces - after you cut all the convex ones! :)

Yeah, I know what the next question will be - when you get home with the stuff. "How do I hold it?"

(Start another thread when you've got it all in front of you.)

Brian

Last edited:

Dani Girl

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
When you have been engraving for many many years. Does it get quicker? At the moment fairly gradual curves like that knife I was having trouble holding are taking me at least twice as long as flat surfaces. Would one expect to ever cut as quickly as one would on a flat object.

Andrew Biggs

When you have been engraving for many many years. Does it get quicker? At the moment fairly gradual curves like that knife I was having trouble holding are taking me at least twice as long as flat surfaces. Would one expect to ever cut as quickly as one would on a flat object.