Hello! I'm new to engraving.

Zoeylynn

I am new to engraving. I'm learning on what I need. I have been collecting items. But evidently I am buying the wrong stuff. I have a Foredom a Magna Engraver GRS 120* and a 90* engraver. I also have some engravers that came with the Magna Engraver. I have a GRS cup filled. A vice. I can solder rings. I make jewelry.

I want to learn to engrave. It's beautiful. I don't want the art to be lost. I want to make pendants and engrave on my rings.

Later when I get good knifes and Guns.

I need to know what I need to get started. Also where do you buy clear transfer to transfer your design on your metal. I do not know any technical terms. I'm below beginner but eager to learn.
Thank you for reading.

I know I need a rotating vice. So if anyone has one for sale or direct me to the place. I have searched and can't find one under $500.00.

Any and all help would be greatly appreciated.

Last edited:

D Fulwood

Click on Tips Archive button for almost all the answers. You can make your own vice or get a cheaper Chinese made one for about 200 on EBay.

Jlepak

The grs micro ball vise is a bit less than 300$. It isn't ideal for engraving but certainly does the job. I am a jeweler and for jewelry engraving and ALL stone setting it is great. At home I use the low profile vise and turntable. It is a better setup for engraving. But I learned on the micro vise till I knew it was time to invest in the real nice stuff. Also. The classes offered at grs training center Are guaranteed to inspire you and get the ball rolling. Go to grstc.com and see if it fits your budget to attend a class, you will not regret it.

gcleaker

Elite Cafe Member