first project "Kassepipe"

John Eiden

Hello All,

I am very new to engraving but I have a project rifle that I would like to try my hand at. It is called a Norwegian Kassepipe rifle. The barrel starts out square at the breech and turns to octagon at about 1/3 of the barrel length.
I am trusting that the simpler style of engraving will be within my capabilities as a beginner.

Just a couple questions to start with.
What is the best way to cut the long border type of engraving that run the length of the barrel? Is there a tool to do this?

And perhaps someone could recommend a beginners engraving website, book, or CD that would help me get started.

Thank you, John

dlilazteca

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
to cut strait lines you need many hours of practice, you can scribe a straight line, but that does not mean you'll be able to cut it, believe it or not cutting a correct straight line is not a new beginner skill. Try cutting a straight border on a practice plate so you can see what I mean.

Use the search funtion, and look in the tips archives all you need is there.

Saludos,
Carlos

Last edited:

monk

Staff member
::::Pledge Member::::
there's much to be learned before taking on such a project. i urge you-- do yer homework first. learn the basic requirements that all engravers should know. then, say a few months later, you could start your project with a bit of confidence. have you even practiced cutting on metal ? can you draw the designs you want to put on your gun ?
goof luck.

John Eiden