Hi there -- introduction and request for suggestions

Newbie Hermes

I've just arrived here. As my username would indicate, I am just getting into engraving, and doing so with a New Hermes "Super" ITX-L that I just got home with about two hours ago.

My initial reason for getting this is to engrave lettering on "80%" lower receivers for Poodle Shooters -- uh, AR-15s -- and ran across a decent deal on this machine with a few accessories.

I haven't had a chance to look much at what I got, but it apparently has not only the motor-driven system, but also a drag.

So, my first question is whether the drag is suitable for engraving lettering into 7075-T6 aluminum forging, or do I want to put the motor spindle back on? And will this work for both anodized and non-anodized material?

Second, if I want to do artwork, I think that just "tracing" over line art will work, rather than having an actual grooved template. Am I correct?

Third, how do you do stippling on things like floorplates?

Fourth, what is the minimum depth of engraving which will be clearly visible?

Fifth (and perhaps most important), does anyone know where I can get a user manual as a pdf or text file?

Thanks!

Ron Spokovich

Elite Cafe Member