Question: Supply question

VEATCH

Hello All,

I am writing in reference to engraving equipment.

I am writing to inquire about any ability to donate used engraving equipment. If you have the ability to donate overstock or equipment with imperfection I would greatly appreciate the help. I am only asking because this will help offset my cost to start something new. As a disabled veteran my life has, and continues to change day to day. I was very active in the past; however, that has all changed. The frustrating part would be the unexplained problems that I have stemming from military service. If there are any veterans out there that need help or someone to correspond with by all means let me know. I understand this is a long shot; however, nothing ventured, nothing gained. Thank you for your time and understanding.

Brandon S. Veatch
b_veatch@yahoo.com
270-498-1243

mtlctr

Elite Cafe Member
you don't need a lot of equipment to start out. you need a small hammer a 3/32" square tool bit and a handle to hold it. a vise (a regular bench vise will work for starting out). and some heavy guage sheet metal I like mild steel the best for practice. for sharpening you can use stones a bench grinder helps to rough out the tool bit. unless you got real good vision you need magnification & the cheapest route is a opti-visor w/ a 5 or 7 lens.Of course there are variations & opinions on what the minimum kit should be. I think Sam A. had a tool list with everything needed & it cost just over $100 if I remember correctly.
as for used or overstock equipment it will generally be sold because of its initial cost. As a disabled vet perhaps the VA can help you with some start-up costs. Good luck.

VEATCH