Critique Request Enameled money clip

Mrfinks

spurred on by everyone's kind words of encouragement the last time I showed my work, I decided to try something a little more advanced.

This is a sterling silver money clip that was damaged so I decided to make it nice again.

It's all hand pushed. I carved out the back ground (which takes forever and a day) then fired it with black enamel. its just blackened with whiteboard marker because i cant find the paint that you guys use.

It's not the greatest thing in the world, But I learned a bunch and like to think I improved it from its original state.

I'm still a noob at engraving so all comments/tips/anything you may notice would be greatly appreciated :)
C.C

1.jpg 3.jpg IMG_0563.jpg 2.jpg

KCSteve

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
If the paint you're referring to is Rustoleum that's just a popular brand in the USA. Just get whatever the regular flat black enamel paint is around your way. Same stuff you'd use to paint something metal meant to sit outside.

Money clip doesn't look too bad. Need a better / closer shot to be sure. Number one tip for better photos: use a camera support (tripod, bean bag, whatever).

Roger B

Elite Cafe Member
Mrfinks,

I was surprised that you hard enamelled the silver - didn't that cause the silver to lose it's spring? And the for you to darken the cuts with a marker! BTW I use an oiled based printers ink available for around $15- from an art supply store. If you would use an ink to darken why would you enamel?

Here is a hint though - if you do decide to enamel, remove the background and overfill the areas - the enamel will settle when fired and shrink back as can be seen in the photos - repeat the process again and stone back to get a flat surface. This is when you can cut the detail.

Actually I would have thought that the enamel would crack in general use of the money clip - "You're a braver man than I am , Gunga Din"

It was good to see the echidna

Roger

Steve L S