Inlay Tips for a beginner

showidaho

I took Sam's class a while back and we did learn to inlay on a practice plate. While mine was NOT great, it is at least 10 times better than anything I've tried since. I can not figure out what I'm doing wrong. I bought dead soft copper and brass wire (I know that gold is the easiest metal with which to work, but I'm so terrible that it would literally be a total waste at this point). My inlay looks lumpy and if I attempt to smooth it it changes the look of the surrounding metal and the edges are still mushroom looking even when flat. Is there a video or a tutorial? I"m at a loss as to what I'm doing wrong. I realize I need to practice, BUT when I look at the one practice plate I did in class I know I'm doing something wrong. Thank you for any advice.

Mrfinks

I know this isn't my thread but If I could maybe post some photos of a project I have, perhaps the advise given could answer both of our questions.

Like OP I'm a beginner too, I have carved out the channels ready for gold inlay into a ring I have made. I'm fairly sure I have done an okay job but this is the first time I have done this and I have no idea what I am doing.

anyhoo just let me know

showidaho

Please don't laugh...I know how horrible it is. The steel plate is the one I did in class and the brass plate is the latest example of how badly it can go when you don't have a clue. I am having a hard time getting a really clear photo of the horrible one, but I think the hack job is pretty evident?
[/IMG] The upload obviously didn't work...let me try again.

dlilazteca

~ Elite 1000 Member ~