Question: difference between heels

Belprime

There is so much talent and skill on this forum it's fantastic. As a beginner, I can hope to soak up as much as possible.
My question is about heels with h/c. I understand that a long heel is best for straight lines and a short heel is best for turns and curves. But, please explain the differences between parallel heels from the Lindsay sharpening system and the heels done by the grs system. How are they different ? For h/c, what do us beginners need to know about them ? I also want to thank everyone for the information you do share.

sanch

Elite Cafe Member
There is so much talent and skill on this forum it's fantastic. As a beginner, I can hope to soak up as much as possible.
My question is about heels with h/c. I understand that a long heel is best for straight lines and a short heel is best for turns and curves. But, please explain the differences between parallel heels from the Lindsay sharpening system and the heels done by the grs system. How are they different ? For h/c, what do us beginners need to know about them ? I also want to thank everyone for the information you do share.

Being "new" also I have sharpened parallel heels on my dual angle sharpening fixture and am using H & C only at the moment the longer or shorter the heel on a parallel in my opinion depends only on the user I have sharpened 90, 115, and 120 all with parallel heels but I am inexperienced also and am currently using a 90 for most of what I have been doing, aside from the heelless bulino gravers that I sharpened also all of my graver chisels have a 50 degree face as that is what I prefer....good luck and keep on hammerin!

KCSteve

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
I can only help a little but I'll do what I can.

The Lindsay template system is set up to do a nice parallel heel. Use it and that's what you'll get.