Question: About to purchase a Flex or Micromotor

Roco

Why do I think this has been asked a 1000 times. Ive done a lot of research and Im to a point where the more I read the more confused in what to start out with I get. I am new to this, artistic in drawing but never something like this...new hobbies after 50 can be interesting lol

I relief carving wood, biggest job im imagining would be birds. (I truly hope this isnt out of line on this site)

Im looking at a flexhshaft, either a Foredom or Mastercarver...

My problem is Im just throwing Micromotors in the mix but Im trying to stay in the $300 range and Im not sure with roughing out small projects that this wont put too much stress on the machine.

Looking at the RAM 45, RAM Mystisa and Foredom Portable.

My hands are no large, I like the idea of a light cord but im not sure if it has the torque needed for my small applications. If I had the funds to start with a NSK then it would be a no brainer. If I thought the Micromotor will hold out for 6 months or so until I an get a Flex shaft to round out my small arsenal Id do that..or the other way around

Any and all help would be great and more than appreciated

Lonestarr

Elite Cafe Member
If you have air I would stay with air motors.....any size motor is available for rough to finish at a reasonable cost.. I have a flex motor and do not use it as much as the air.....one problem is the air supply, if you use large motors you need a large air compressor....mine is 10 cubic feet at 125 psi which is on the large size but you will find large is better....I find the NSK is for fine work, do to the cost of the motor I do not like to lug it down....Good luck on your venture....
Bob

Eric Olson

Elite Cafe Member
If you get a flex shaft I have been happy with the Foredom Tx. It has more torque at low speed and offers great control.
I don't have a micro motor but people love them I know.

Roco