about to purchase sharpening system

Big_Rick

Hello all my name is Rick I am new to engraving. I used to work as a tattoo artist and painting custom motorcycles. I always wanted to learn how to engrave however due to the high costs involved in starting, I never could get started. A few months ago I was finally able to put a few dollars together and purchased an enset from Mrs. Tira Mitchell. She was very encouraging and after talking to her I was excited to try my hand at this beautiful art. However after my package arrived I realized that I still had to obtain a way to shape and sharpen the gravers. Tira was nice enough to include a sharpened graver, but I didn't want to start practicing yet because once that graver goes dull I had no way to sharpen. I didn't want to start, then have to stop and wait until I could save up enough to buy a sharpening system. So I put everything away in the garage and have been waiting until I have the resources to obtain a sharpening system. I'm happy to say that I finally got my money right and I am now ready to buy the power hone complete with dual angle system from grs. I was curious to know if someone could advise me if there's anything else I will need to sharpen besides what comes with the power hone complete package. Once I have everything, I'll be downloading Mr. Sam's guide to sharpening. If anyone could help me out it would be greatly appreciated, thanks - Rick

dlilazteca

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
complete setup, if you have a dual angle fixture you should be good, only issue would be the collets, never used enset collets, collets are what hold your gravers in exact postion when sharpening to help get the same angle everytime, especially if the gravers are round, not sure how the enset collets sit in the GRS dual angle fixture.

Pssst a little secret....(whisper)youll need more tools trust me, a scope for example and Extra gravers of course to name a few.;)

Saludos,
Carlos

Last edited:

GTJC460

~ Elite 1000 Member ~