Help, please: Beginner with questions regarding tools

Chankyi

Hi everyone! I'm new to the forums and to engraving, I am a watchmaking student and apprentice.

I wish to take up hand push engraving and had read some old books and searched the internet regarding engraving. I am planning to make my purchases for basic engraving setup which will last as this has been in my consideration for a very long time.

As I will likely to be engraving watch movements and the likes, I presume the max diameter would be somewhere to be 50mm. Apart from gravers, I suppose the next most important tool would be the vise.

What vise would you recommend me to buy? I am planning to get a GRS MicroBall vise with 30 piece attachment. Alternatively, the china made ball vise.

Thanks everyone!

silverchip

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
Absolutely do not overlook sharpening equipment. YOu can have all the best tools in the world but for hand push engraving, if they are not sharp you can not begin to do the job well.

Marrinan

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
There are several watch makers on this and the Lindsay forum. Some from Switzerland and beyond. They will be able to to give you the best advise. Sam is also a watchmaker. Best of luck, Fred

PS Use the search tool under watch at the top of the page FM

Chankyi

Thanks guys! Is it possible to sharpen by hand? I might not have that much finance to accommodate a sharpening system. Would the micro ball be sufficient?

Andrew Biggs

I would advise against the micro block vise. It is a bit small and not heavy enough.

If you are going to push by hand (or air assist) you want something with weight and mass that resists your pushing. Otherwise your left hand (the one holding the vise) is going to continually be forcing back to keep everything balanced. You'll find it gets very tiresome after a short period of time.