Question: tripod as engraver's vise

snappdragon

I'm a retired photographer; Have a Bogen/Manfrotto tripod (full rotation, panoramic ball head) w/quick release attachment. It also has a "tension lever", which will also lock movement. It has very smooth movements. Has anyone ever tried to makeshift an engraver's vise from a tripod? l plan to attach my small universal holder vice head (from Rio Grande) to the quick-change top, to hold my small stuff...Any input is appreciated. I'm on a squeaky tight budget, and I'm going to try to make this work. I will follow up with results, if I ever complete this project.

Sam

Chief Administrator & Benevolent Dictator
Staff member
Sounds like a very unstable setup to me. If you're using hammer & chisel or pneumatic handpiece, vibration is your worst enemy.

monk

Staff member
::::Pledge Member::::
sounds as though the tripod may be a good one. might be useful if the height adjustment works ok, regardless, it must be absolutely rigid, with no "play" in it. it must also be capable of supporting the load placed on it. in the old days i made a couple out of nothing more than plumbers pipe from the junkyard. ugly as sin, but they worked. your pod should be able to be lowered sufficiently to allow you to work in comfort. most here that have started on a low budget, will tell you of backaches, neck pains, shoulder pain, and idiopathic discomforts of all sorts. all resulting from working without regard to comfort.

Ron Spokovich

Elite Cafe Member