Question: n-graver Magnagraver for Pave / Stone Setting

andrewlogue

Hi Folks,

I should probably do a quick intoduction as this is my first post having just joined the forum. I'm a hobbyist jeweler based in Melbourne Australia and I've been looking at purchasing a setup for stone setting, specifically channel setting and pave. I'm pretty clear on the techniques but every example I've seen is of people using a pneumatic engraver of some sort with classic shaped handpiece (Lyndsay/GRS/EnSet). Unfortunately these don't fit into my budget as being in Australia it seems everything is double the price!

My question would be has anyone used a Magnagraver for pave setting and does the handpiece shape make it more awkward in that it's not a classic shape that fits into the palm, it seems more of a hammer handpiece shape? I've scoured Google but can't find any video or pictorial examples of cutting these types of settings so thought I'd ask in the forum.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Many thanks!

Andrew.

monk

Staff member
::::Pledge Member::::
no mistake about the magnagraver, it is a good tool. for your needs, i don't think hand slippage would be a problem. i used one for some time to engrave steel, brass , and other metals as well. never having set but one stone,it was done with a gravermeister. i'd suggest you contact ray phillips. i think he would give you the total capabilities of this tool. i sold mine as i found no favor with the tool being attached to a flexshaft. other than that, i might still have the tool.

Jan Hendrik

Elite Cafe Member