Question: Co2 vs compressor

EverydayAlchemy

Hi all. My name is OJ and I'm new to the forum. I've been reading a lot and don't have a lot to contribute yet. I am considering picking up hand-engraving as a hobby. I have the arts background, but will be going with the self-taught method since there aren't any engraving classes (that I could find) in the Las Vegas area.

The question I have is in regards to the different types of air-powered gravers. I have a 20lb Co2 tank that I use for airbrushing. It lasts a long time between fills for airbrushing and I find it to be easy on the ears in my condo living situation. I'd like to know if the different types of gravers out there will work with Co2 air or do the (seemingly proprietary) compressors that a lot of these are sold with providing the air fluctuation that produces the jackhammer-type of movement. Are the fluctuations controlled by the compressor or by the hand-held graver? :handpiece:

Next question: (If Co2 is an appropriate air-supply) do you know of a stand-alone footpedal that can regulate the air from a Co2 delivery setup.

I did scour the forum using the search function but I didn't find anything specifically addressing this setup. Thank you in advance.

dlilazteca

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
I know Lindsay airgraver will work of co2 with some regulators to bring down the pressure to around 35 to 65 psi normal operating range. Not sure on GRS equipment, grs equipment uses more air than The classic I own both, yet both will do a great job.

Saludos,

Carlos

KCSteve

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
The GRS equipment uses the box to produce the pulsed air stream. The Lindsay does it all inside the handpiece. The GRS has adjustments the Lindsay doesn't, but the differences are more in the feel of the unit than in actual functionality.