Question : newbie and practice plates?

Belprime

As a total newbie, I am asking for advice. I'm starting with h/c. So my question is what metal is the best to start with? Is it Copper, Brass or some kind of steel? And where would be the best place to get it? Thanks for your time...

monk

Staff member
::::Pledge Member::::
many will tell you to purchase practice plates from the suppliers. good to do, as the plates are finished so as to permit engraving on right away.less expensive[[[[ go to your local scrapyard. there's lots of good practice mtl there--mild steel, brass, copper-- whatever. mild steel is easier to cut than a newbie might think, large fender washers will give practice not only on steel, but in confining ones' design work to a limited area. smaller pieces of practice plate can be glued to a wood block using hotmelt glue sticks. releases with common isopropyl alcohol. clamp the wood in your vise, and you're good to go. thanks for joining, and read a lot in the forum and tips section. post a foto or two as you begin to work.

Sam

Chief Administrator & Benevolent Dictator
Staff member
Mild steel is great with hammer & chisel. 2" steel practice plates from GRS are a convenient size and good thickness. As monk said, gluing it down to something will minimize vibration and give you something solid and sturdy to clamp in the vise, like a block of wood, etc. One of the biggest enemies of hammer & chisel and pneumatic handpiece engravers is vibration. It's also something we all learn to deal with, but try our best to keep it at a minimum. A thin plate held by vise pins is going to vibrate a small amount in certain areas, especially where there's airspace under it. Thicker plates are better and/or gluing them down to something really solid and clamping that in the vise will be of great benefit.