Help, please: microscope

Brigitta

Hi, I am new to the Engraver's Cafe so let me introduce myself;
I am a goldsmith and did some engraving-work long ago, but was introduced to the 'new way' of engraving by taking Sam Alfano's class in Europe about 8 years ago (Thank's Sam!).Got excited and bought the equipment (except the microscope)....and did not get much time to do much with it...that means until now!
Now I have a problem with centering the piece underneath the microscope. I have an stereo zoom microscope of the brand MOTIC , with an auxiliary lens of 0,5 and eyepieces of 10x. I put a plate on my GRS standard block of 50mm square and would like to engrave something at the side of the plate 9so not in the middle). If I put the block under the microscope and focus on the part to be engraved I understand that it will move out of my vision so I need an additional turnable base. Now I try to get the side of the plate clear with the widest field view (about 40mm). Now when I turn to engrave scrolls the side of the plate moves out of view all the time, even when I tighten the rotation-system of the GRS-block and only rotate the turnable base. What am I doing wrong? I hope someone will have an answer to this!

By the way enjoy reading all the info on this website, and the beautiful engravings in the pictures!!

Brigitta

Sam

Chief Administrator & Benevolent Dictator
Staff member
Hi Brigitta! Nice to see you on the forum. I hope you've been well.

Here's a short video by GRS which explains the use of the turntable. Be sure to have the turntable's point of rotation (its center) centered under your scope using the centering post that comes with it.

monk

Staff member
::::Pledge Member::::