Gravermeister "System 3" ?? for beginner

1982fxr

I found this for about $600. Are there others at this price point?

I have no experience but would like to try Harley parts and maybe also guns. price point is attractive:)

Sam

Chief Administrator & Benevolent Dictator
Staff member
The Gravermeister and Sytem 3 are two different systems. You might mean the GRS System 3. The Gravermeister is a pressure-vaccuum system that generates its own air pulses. It's noisy and hot but it's capable of beautiful engraving in the hands of an experienced engraver.

The System 3 is a self-oscillating handpiece. It's also capable of producing good work.

My advice is to put that money toward a higher end system if you're really serious about engraving.

1982fxr

oops, meant to include a link, but I mean the GRS System 3. $600 is about all I can come up with. It doesn't sound like you are too hot on the System 3 for a beginner...?

Is there anything else out there in that price range? thanks..Lee

1982fxr

aside from budget it's hard to convince myself to spend a ton on a set-up if I might suck at it. I would not expect to be good without tons of practice, but it's kinda scary knowing I could spend a bunch of money and never get beyond being horrific.

I wish there was somewhere to try running one of these things first but that doesn't seem likely...

Sam

Chief Administrator & Benevolent Dictator
Staff member
I wish there was somewhere to try running one of these things first but that doesn't seem likely...

That's your best bet. How about telling everyone your name and location and maybe someone can help you.

1982fxr

My name is Lee and I live in Phoenix (Tempe). I work 3-11pm Mon-Thurs and can be free any times other than those with a day or 2 notice. I can travel about 30-40 miles from Tempe. My vehicle isn't the best...

GTJC460

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
I would suggest posting your location. Many engravers will gladly allow you to "try" out your hand at the equipment they have.