Learning how to Wriggle

Mikey B

Hi guys, I'm a newbie on the forum! I am in Devon in the UK.

I am desperate to learn how to do the wriggle style engraving as found on brass musical instruments, especially saxophones.

I don't have any previous experience of metal engraving, or even know what tools I would need.

Any advise as to the best place to start and what tools I need and where I can obtain them plus any guide books on the subject in the UK would really be appreciated.

Thanks, Mikey

Sam

Chief Administrator & Benevolent Dictator
Staff member
If you go to 1:38 there's a short example of wriggling. Basically you use a flat graver and "walk" it side to side. A #38 flat graver with a 45° face and 15° heel will give you something to practice with.

[video=youtube;gSIn5qbfzzs]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gSIn5qbfzzs[/video]

monk

Staff member
::::Pledge Member::::
i think the best gravers for this work are flats and rounds. depending on the particular effect you're trying to achieve, even properly sharpened screwdrivers are the tool of choice. you simply let one corner of the graver dig in to the metal slightly, while the corner remains stuck in the metal, rotate the blade 30 or so degrees forward then shift the graver so the other corner digs in. repeat this sequence several hundred times and there it is. way more difficult to explain than to actually do it. see if there are any videos by jason dumars. years ago he posted a couple fotos on the forum, as well as having some very interesting video as to how hhe did this work. i have quite a few fotos of this type work if you want to view them. lemme know at jayismonk450@gmail.com be glad to share them with you.

phil

Elite Cafe Member