Help, please: Best beginner book/DVD

jeness

Hi everyone!

I will buy a Lindsay Artisan and a nice vise at the end of May, but I think that I will need something to learn enrgaving from. I have a friend who will help, but he lives far from me, and unfortunately I don't have anyone here in Hungary I could take classes from, so I will need every help I can get.

Is there a good comprehensive book, DVD, or both you would recommend for a total beginner? Please take into consideration that I am in the middle of buying a lot of equipment, so a good cost/benefit ratio is highly desirable :)

As I see it almost any book or DVD related to engraving costs 50-100$ or more, so I would be happy if I could start with one that covers most of the basics, and gets me started.

I will be engraving mostly knives, razors, and smaller stuff, so those which are mainly gun related aren't really the best for me.

Thank you very much for your help in advance, I appreciate it a lot!

Ron Spokovich

Elite Cafe Member
Apparently, you have some funding available for those few items you need. In my opinion, the best thing you could do, in the shortest time, is avail yourself to computer service of some kind even if you had to travel. You sent an inquiry to this forum, so you have computer access somehow. There are a multitude of books out there, and short, and longer, DVD's can be viewed or purchased outright, from various vendors or on-line. What's available in your area, I don't know. From there, you can proceed. In the mean time, that would give you a great exposure to what's out there. Good luck!

GTJC460

~ Elite 1000 Member ~