Chasing Hammer suggestions

Brant

Elite Cafe Member
I'm just getting started and want to try my hand at Hammer/Chisel engraving.

What would the Pros that work this way suggest I buy, I am not opposed to spending for a good tool, I know the value in quality tools.

Thanks in advance,

Brant

JJ Roberts

:::Pledge Member:::
::::Pledge Member::::
Brant,GRS has two nice chasing hammers in there catalog,I think Sam designed them. J.J.

Brant

Elite Cafe Member
Got Hammered

Thanks for the tips, I just ordered the GRS set. Rio has them cheaper than Glendo!

Brant

Mike Fennell

Elite Cafe Member
When you get your hammers you will want to shave the handles a little thinner. You want a bit of spring in the handle. As they come from the factory they are too thicik and stiff. I found this to be true even of the handle I bought in Brescia. The head was much lighter than anything on the market here, and I needed to shave the handle down appropriate to the light weight of the head.

Roger Bleile

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
Brant,

Since you are a self proclaimed "newby", I should mention that there are two basic styles of using H&C and the hammers used in each are different. The hammers I pictured and Mike Fennell's comments above are for the "European" or "side hand" method of engraving. The "Asian" style, as taught by Neil Hartleip, Benno Huene, and John Shippers, uses a much shorter and stiff handle. For an explanation of the styles go to the following links in the glossary.
European: http://www.engravingglossary.com/Hand Engraving Glossary E.htm
Asian: http://www.engravingglossary.com/Hand Engraving Glossary A.htm

RB

JJ Roberts

Brant,You'll find the European method is better then the Asian method and if you mount your vise to a pedestal and stand while engraving you'll have the freedom to move around and cut scroll in one pass with no wasted motion,sitting at a stationary vise to long will give you back problems.Welcome to the Cafe keep us posted. J.J.

Brant