Question: engraving on blued FA

jaydf

hi there!

im new at this, this is my 1st project on blued FA. the blue is just the common or typical blue, so anybody could be of help.

i just want to ask if these is the basic procedure to engrave a blued firearm. i dont re-blue the FA, i only do engraving.

a) remove blue
b) prepare steel (sanding, buffing etc)
b) engraving
c) inlay (if applicable)
e) detailing
f) re-blueing (by client or other gunsmith)

i was planning not to remove the blue and do the engraving directly without preparing the steel, the finish is good but not excellent.

also my shop is just a kilometer (half a mile) from the sea coastline (pacific), so our air here is a bit salty, i dont want to remove the blue for protection of the FA. i just want to put oil while engraving. below is my plan steps:

a) engraving
b) detailing
c) re-blueing (by client or other gunsmith)

is these the better procedure?

while you do some contemplating on your feedback help, here is the beach just at least 2 kms from the shop, care for a dip anyone? :biggrin:

;)

Andrew Biggs

Hi Jay

Always remove the blue first on all parts. Then prep the gun removing all dings and dents and scratches. Then engrave etc then reblue all parts.

There is a very good reason for this........if you slip or make a ragged cut with a bur, then you will need to burnish and sand the area. This will mar the surface. Then you have a problem on your hands.

By taking the blue off all parts, when you reblue, all parts will look the same. Not mismatched.

If the gun is for yourself then take pride in your work and follow all necessary steps.

if for a paying customer, never believe them when they say it will be alright. When they pick up the gun the mismatching blue will be noticeable and they won't like it. They always forget any conversations you have about it and they never remember your warnings!!! It is always your fault. That is just human nature.