Colonial Gunsmith

JJ Roberts

:::Pledge Member:::
::::Pledge Member::::
maplesm,Thank's for sharing the youtube videos on the Willamsburg gunsmiths,I get to see Wallace Gusler and Clay Smith at muzzle loader events Wallace taught many young men the building of the long rifle at the Williamsburg shop. J.J.

Fred Bowen

Elite Cafe Member
Wallace Gusler has a booth at the NMLRA Spring & Fall National Shoots and he is always ready to share his vast knowledge. He also displays several original longrifles and can point out the many details of a particular gunmaking school and the techniques of building them. It's worth a trip to Friendship, Indiana, to see him and the many other activities on the grounds.

rrupp

I was a first year student at Colorado school of trades in 1971 and we watched this film as a class assignment. it was so much fun to watch it again.

DakotaDocMartin

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
I used to have the old VHS videotape years ago but it got worn out from being lent out to the various members of the Coon 'n Crockett Muzzleloaders Club. Then, I replaced it with the DVD version. You can buy those on Amazon here: The Gunsmith of Williamsburg

I built a few rifle kits years ago always personalizing them with carving, etc. The only "scratch built" rifle I did took me 2 1/2 months of 10 hour days. A 1770 Isaac Haines style Pennsylvania longrifle with a .40 caliber radius grooved swamped Colerain barrel, curly maple stock, brass fittings, and I made it with interchangeable large Davis tuned Siler percussion and flintlocks, and Walter Caine fancy single set trigger. Even so, that ends up being a lot easier than actually making every single part down to the last screw as Wallace Gusler did.

JJ Roberts

:::Pledge Member:::
::::Pledge Member::::