+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 7 1 2 3 ... LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Diary of a Novice

Hello!

I'm gathering up courage to make a first post to this wonderful site; been reading through countless amount of posts and made enough notes to fill a book...all I can say is: I'm so excited!

As I'm completely new to the world of engraving, thought it would be a nice idea to start to keep some sort of diary of my own progress. I've gathered some basic tools already, but as they're quite expensive I'm buying a little at a time and drooling on those shiny parts I can't yet afford to buy

I've had a setup for a few days now and oh jeez that I'm struggling to even hold the graver...but it's so much fun! I'm like a kid in a candy store. Don't think I'm going to post pictures of the first plate as it's like a bomb field with sharp things to cut yourself with (note to self; it's not a good idea to sweep the plate with a finger to get rid of those metal sticks, real sharp things). Managed to do a few lines tho', which I'm quite proud of. I'll take some photos soon enough, I promise.

Well, engraving is new to me, but I've done quite a bit of drawing in the past and I'm familiar with the basic concept of getting things down on paper. I have a whole arsenal of arty equipment that I've harvested during the 10 year of experimentation and can't wait to get those to use as well.

I made a little concept drawing today of a scroll frog that I wish to engrave someday...might not be the easiest to start with: If I managed to load it, it's in the post If anyone is interested I can write a little tutorial of how to use a light table and ink/pens to help with the designing part. hm?

To be continued, much likely with a whole lot of questions!

Take care,
    ~Julia
    Attached Images

Post Thanks / Like

Please do! Tutorials are always good. I wish I had your drawing skills.

Thanks for sharing and welcome.

Carlos De La O III
    Saludos,
    Carlos

www.gunengraver.com