Cafe Interview with John Barraclough

Sam

Chief Administrator & Benevolent Dictator
Staff member
::: Engraving :::

Q. What's your name?
A. John K. Barraclough, and thank you for asking me to participate. I'm honored.

Q. Where are you from?
A. I have lived outside Los Angeles, California for the last 55 years. I'm originally from England.

Q. How long have you been engraving?
A. Sixty-one years, on and off.

Q. What made you want to become an engraver?
A. I like guns, knives and art and admired the combination of them.

Q. Are you a hobbyist or professional engraver?
A. I'm a kinda lazy professional who doesn't work as hard as I once did. Didn't turn pro until the 70's. I had a design business before that and just engraved on the side.

Q. How did you learn engraving?
A. I was first introduced to it by an old English gun maker in about 1945. He was very reluctant to help me and really wanted to keep it a big
secret. I was a young steeplechase jockey at the time he didn't think I had the right to any of his knowledge. Later I emigrated to the United States. In the late 70's I read in the American Rifleman that the NRA had established an engraving program at Trinidad State College in Colorado, to be taught by Neil Hartliep. What a difference. Neil loved to teach and shared information very freely. A fine and warm gentleman who became a friend to everyone who was lucky enough to know him.

Q. What was your biggest obstacle when you first started?
A. The reluctance to exchange information in the old days.

Q. Are you a hammer & chisel and/or push engraver, or do you use pneumatic tools, or a combination of hand and power?
A. For many years I used only hammer and chisel and push tools. I still enjoy these and use them often. But I do have all the power assist tools that I am aware of and enjoy using them too.

Q. What are your favorite books pertaining to engraving?