Question: What's the most common size wire you use?

AndrosCreations

Elite Cafe Member
Greetings all,

I've spoken with several engravers lately and asked what range of wire thickness they typically use for inlay and found it quite educational as I'm a novice. I was also a little shocked to know how thin the wire was...

I'm curious to know two things and think it would be helpful for the other new engravers Also...

1) What is the most common wire gauge/thickness that you use... If you were stranded on a desert island and you could only take one gauge with no drawplate... what would it be?

2) What is the range of wire gauge/thickness that you use? (Not including the initial gauge you purchase to draw down with a drawplate unless you would actually use that gauge for inlay).

Thanks for participating in advance! :biggrin:

Last edited:

Sam

Chief Administrator & Benevolent Dictator
Staff member
I don't think of wire sizes myself. I use whatever fits the job I'm doing at the time and have everything from 18 gauge to 30 gauge. Churchill snips off pieces from sheet gold and doesn't use a draw plate. I'd say 26 ga would be a good one for borders.

Ray Cover

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
The two I use most for line inlay are .015" and .020". I don't know what that comes out to in gauge measurement. But those are the two sizes I most commonly draw down to for line inlay.

Ray

mitch

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
i use whatever size fits the trench i just dug. ;)

SamW

:::Pledge Member:::
::::Pledge Member::::
Castle Valley, UT in the Red Rock country
I mostly use 0.016" for inlays and 0.012 for borders. If I need really small stuff I flatten the 12 and cut tiny strips from it. I usually buy in 0.020" size to have a bit larger on hand.

Christopher Malouf

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
5mi from the nearest Dunkin Donuts in Tennessee