Readiness of Beginner to Engrave a Gun

How does a beginner know when they are ready to engrave a gun?
When I was an apprentice printer, we had a list of skills we needed to be proficient in before being considered able to work on our own. Granted we were still dangerous on our own. Although inexperience leaves one vulnerable to certain mistakes, surely there is an overview of the craft that would serve as a basis beginners could use to make reasonably sound decisions.
What specific skills are needed for the gun engraver to be considered basically proficient?
Practice alone is not enough, certainly specific measurable skills are needed.
After so long practicing towards the goal of engraving guns, now people have begun to trust me with their treasures and I don't want to let them down. I want to be sure I won't do anything to "ruin" or devalue their possessions. Isn't there a basic and simple treatment of engraving than can be elegant and within the beginners reach. The customers I attract are not kings, but I would like to treat them like they are because they have trusted my work. Irregardless of the current monetary value of their guns, isn't there an engraving option that would be within reach of both the inexperienced gun engraver and the average budget? Grandpa's monogram on his old Winchester restored by his son and grandson shouldn't break the bank and would enhance a family heirloom. The general public has almost no exposure to engravers- no wonder hand engraving is so misunderstood.
While we are blessed to have so many wonderful and talented engravers in this forum, much of the work displayed is so perfect and so small no one I know could ever afford such amazing art. Reaching this level of ability would take a lifetime. What benchmark did you use to determine your readiness?