getting started

mike34

hello everyone, i have never done any engraving and want to learn , where does one start ? school, books ,can patterns be purchased any help will be great. thanks

Marcus Hunt

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
Hi Mike and welcome to the Café. The best way to start engraving is to take a course but you can go the self taught route if you have the dedication. Emporia State University run a degree course in the Engraving Arts if that takes your fancy. You'll find a myriad of information on this website and guys willing to give advice.

Mike Bissell

Elite Cafe Member
Mike, welcome to the Cafe'. You could start by joining FEGA and possibly take advantage of their scholarship program. I would strongly consider taking a class to get the feel of things before laying out a lot of money for tools. I see you are not that far from Reno NV, so maybe you could come to the FEGA show January 22 -24 with free seminars on Monday the 25th. I guess the first thing to get would be Ron Smith's book "Advance Scroll Drawing", pencils, an eraser, and a lot of paper.

Mike

mike34

Mike thanks for the reply not having any background in art should i start with ''advanced'' scroll design book i am looking forward to going to the FEGA show

kcrutche

Elite Cafe Member
Mike34

Welcome to the group.

I to would recommend you purchase Ron Smith's book "Advance Scroll Drawing".

Also I understand Sam will have a DVD Video, on scroll design, available shortly.

This will help give you a understanding of the proper way to draw a scroll design.

If you then decide to take a class you will have a idea of what they are talking about.

I also would not recommend purchasing a lot of tools until and before you really know what to buy.

Try to meet as many members as you can to see and try out the different types of equipment and gravers (Lindsay or GRS).

Ken Crutcher

Sam

Chief Administrator & Benevolent Dictator
Staff member